The Belgian EURISOL Consortium

Logo BEC

The Belgian EURISOL Consortium (BEC) is a network of Belgian universities and research institutes actively participating into research joining their efforts in a coordinated action of ISOL developments in Belgium and which intend to enter the EURISOL Collaboration.


  • To coordinate R&D programs for ISOL developments in Belgium.
  • To be part of the EURISOL Collaboration.
  • To interact with research groups at the current ISOL facilities and participate in international collaborations.
  • To lobby for obtaining financial support for the establishment of an R&D programme and the realization of ISOL@MYRRHA and EURISOL facilities.


  • UGent - Ghent University
  • ULB - Université libre de Bruxelles
  • KU Leuven - University of Leuven
  • VUB - Vrije Universiteit Brussel
  • VKI - von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics
  • SCK•CEN - Belgian Nuclear Research Centre

Organisation chart

 EURISOL organisation chart

Steering committee

• ULB - Prof. Pierre Descouvemont
• UGent - Prof. Stefaan Cottenier
• KU Leuven - Prof. Riccardo Raabe (Vice-Chair)
• VUB - Prof. Steve Vanlanduit
• VKI - Ir. Philippe Planquart (Chair) 
• SCK•CEN: Prof. Hamid Aït Abderrahim

Coordinator: Dr. Lucia Popescu, SCK•CEN